So Long, Farewell, Aufedersein, Goodbye

March 4, 2009

Well today’s the last day!! Don’t want to go back home to reality. I love it out here!!! We got up at 7:30am. I had breakfast as Cynthia rushed out as she was on the 8:30am bus back to New York. Cynthia headed off and I got ready to go to Rich Medina’s. After checking out of the hotel I jumped in a taxi and went to Rich’s which was about a 10min drive away. As I knocked his door my voice kind of sunk and my heart started racing. His wife answered and was really nice and brought me upstairs. Rich and their beautiful little boy were playing, then he clocked me and immediately came over gave me a hug and made me feel right at home which was relieving. I’d met rich last summer at MCs for Life and didn’t think he’d remember me, but he did.

Rich and their beautiful little boy were playing, then he clocked me and immediately came over gave me a hug and made me feel right at home which was relieving. I’d met rich last summer at MCs for Life and didn’t think he’d remember me, but he did.

After taking good care of me and being very welcoming we went to Rich’s studio. As we walked in on my left hand side the whole wall top to bottom, left to right was full of records. As I looked around I was amazed! I’ve never been in a studio so equipped and styled to fit a person. The booth was behind computer and all the technical equipment. I fell in love with everything straight away. Then Rich started playing some of his beats to me. Not thinking I just starting flowing over them as bars and new lyrics started coming into my head and I started connecting with the music immediately.

After flicking through about 20 beats Rich made me a CD to take home and write to. This made me feel like the best MC in the world at this moment especially as he was telling how 3-4 songs were made for Lauren Hill. We were vibing off each other, then about 20mins before I had to leave to catch my bus/coach, Rich was like “ ‘im going  to make something real quick I want you to go into the booth and do your thing.” So he started making a beat and I started flowing. The next thing I’m in the booth going hard, in a zone of my own. I turn round and Rich is filming me as I’ve finished my rehearsed bar and I’m just free-styling. That was breathtaking – Rich medina was filming ME with his camera!!!!! We took pictures, vibed to the song and although he never said a lot I think he was feeling my music.

Soon after I had  to leave. Rich dropped me to the coach which was cool. We said our goodbyes and then it was back to New York. Today was definitely a major part of my trip. I was really surprised how nice and level-headed Rich was. He didn’t act like he was any better than me and respected my opinions and also gave me a lot of advice and motivation. I can’t wait to get home to start writing and working on his beats -  show Lauren Hill what she could of done :) lol

This trip for me has been an eye opener to what’s out there and where you can actually go with music, what gets you the kind of respect you want and how to get it. I feel I’m ready to branch out and try new things to find my sound, and collaborate and work with different  people. This trip has been what I’ve needed. Sometimes it’s good to come away and see things different so when you go back in you know what to work for.

Thank you Punch!! Can’t wait to show you what I’m made of!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

